Author Topic: Questions About Roles  (Read 5657 times)

Drury

• View Profile
Questions About Roles
« on: April 21, 2011, 11:43:16 PM »
[After multiple tries, I could only get half this message to show.  Even subsequent posts, which I deleted, wouldn't allow the rest of the message, though when I try to modify, the entire message is there.  Maybe Dave can either help me show all the info in this post or delete the thread and tell me what I'm doing wrong?]

Since I’m new to MT, maybe this has been thoroughly discussed already.  I’ve been thinking the last few days about Roles in general and my Role in particular.  Much of what I’ve read about Roles over the last couple weeks, since I learned about MT, seems to describe the extremes of Roles so they’re easier to tell apart, not necessary how they always play out in real life.  For example, according to what I’ve read, Warriors are in-your-face people, Sages need to have center stage with as many people as possibly admiring them, and Priests are driven and need to be leaders over as large a group as possible in order for their mission to be achieved.  If I go by what I’ve read so far about all Roles, my husband and I don’t fit any type.  Since I’m so new, I can’t speak with authority on anything connected to MT and maybe people can set me straight, but I wonder if many of the descriptions are leaving out a much broader spectrum of how Roles manifest, thus confusing people and making it harder to spot their Roles.  It’s true that the Overleaves modify Roles, but it seems Roles should be distinctive enough to be able to stand alone as archetypes without studying the rest of the MT categories.  I googled, trying to find answers, and came up with some quotes from Shepherd Hoodwin.  He said what I’d come to: